Forester’s comment on PC-GIS

Hey guys, no need to have any support today J… I wanted to send a comment..

Last August I took a position with a local community college that has a accredited Forestry AS degree. I teach the “forester” side of the program if you will… One of the courses I took over for this spring semester is Forest Mapping…These later weeks we have started into GIS and we have ArcMap 10.3.1 in the lab. Struggling through I am slowly learning how Arc operates after I got frustrated so many times in the years past…plus in the business world I wasn’t getting paid to figure out how to use Arc…

But even gaining a 1/16th knowledge of how to operate ArcMap…I continue to appreciate the operations of your GIS software! If I ran the checkbook, I would pull Arc off and order up the licenses for CMTGIS! I understand there are differences, and advantages to Arc..I get it. But man, if you are only interested in what general forestry is (other than large resource management operations), Arc seems to be a extremely over developed system. I am still waiting on responses how to put a plot grid in Arc J… 2 of my industry friends that run Arc say they do not know, they just import the boundary shape into something like fGIS or freeware, develop the plot grid shape, then import that plot grid shape into their ArcMap. So, I am still in search of how you do a plot grid in Arc. Pretty important for foresters to have something more efficient than utilizing other GIS software to do that.

Either way, I felt my 2 cent comparison to you would be worthwhile. Just seems so cumbersome to do general stuff, but I know I am 6-7 years in on running CMTGIS. I have put CMT to the test with several large projects and have yet to find anything that I needed done, that CMTGIS couldn’t do. Having that 7 years experience with CMT, then working in Arc, I feel even more confident that CMTGIS is more than an effective system for the forest industry!

Thank You!
Scott Reigel ~ WVRPF #580

Leave a Reply

